Oklahoma State Medical Association Honors Medical, Community and Political Leaders with OSMA Awards

Norman Mayor Breea Clarke, Oklahoma City Mayor David Holt and Tulsa Mayor G. T. Bynum Receive Outstanding Elected Official Award

Oklahoma City (Aug. 23, 2021) – On Aug. 21, the state's largest physician association recognized medical and community leaders, including mayors of Oklahoma's three largest cities, for their contribution to health and medicine at the Oklahoma State Medical Association's annual awards.

"Oklahoma's health community has faced extraordinary challenges over the past year due to the coronavirus pandemic. Each of these winners not only met those challenges exquisitely but, through their efforts, helped save the lives of their fellow Oklahomans," said Oklahoma State Medical Association President Mary Clarke, M.D. "We are grateful for their leadership, advocacy and commitment to creating a healthier state."

Awards and winners are listed below:

The PCHO Practice in Prevention Award is presented to one who exemplifies excellence in promoting clinical prevention and wellness education in their medical center and community. This year's award is presented to Aaron Wendelboe, Ph.D. The Edward E. and Helen T. Bartlett Chair in Public Health at the University of Oklahoma, Dr. Wendelboe is a nationally recognized epidemiologist and public health leader. 

Don J Blair, Friend of Medicine Award is presented to outstanding lay people whose work positively impacts the practice of medicine, the delivery of healthcare or the prevention of negative health consequences in their community. This year's award goes to three very deserving recipients Patti Davis, president of the Oklahoma Hospital Association; Jane Nelson, chief executive officer of the Oklahoma Nurses Association; and Jana Timberlake, former Executive Director of the Oklahoma County Medical Society.

The Gordon Deckert, M.D., Community Service Award is presented to a physician who has made significant contributions to the medical community outside the scope of their current medical practice. This award goes to Dale Bratzler, D.O., MPH. Dr. Bratzler is Chief COVID-19 Officer for the University of Oklahoma (O.U.), a professor and chair of the Department of Health Administration and Policy at the Hudson College of Public Health and a professor in the College of Medicine at the O.U. Health Sciences Center.

The Newcomer of the Year Award was established in 2020 to honor an OSMA member physician in their first five years of practice who has exemplified significant contributions and service to their school, community or organized medicine. The inaugural recipient of the Newcomer of the Year award is Chris Sudduth, M.D., M.P.H. Dr. Sudduth is vice president of the Oklahoma State Medical Association and co-founder of Remedy Health Direct Primary Care in Tulsa.

The Ed Brandt, Jr, MD, Outstanding Elected Official Award is presented to outstanding elected officials for their work to support the House of Medicine. Norman Mayor Breea Clark, Oklahoma City Mayor David Holt and Tulsa Mayor G.T. Bynum for their work in addressing the spread of COVID-19 through city-wide facemask ordinances.

Ed Calhoon, M.D., Leadership in Medicine Award is presented to an OSMA member physician in recognition of his or her distinguished leadership and service to organized medicine at the county, state, or national level. This year's award goes to OMSA's past president and Tulsa-based dermatologist George Monks, M.D., for his exceptional leadership of the organization from the earliest days of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The state's largest physician advocacy group, the Oklahoma State Medical Association represents nearly 4,000 current and future physicians throughout Oklahoma.