Oklahoma State Medical Association Board Leadership Awards: Submit by January 27!

The prestigious awards below will be presented at the OSMA/OSMAA Inaugural during OSMA’s Annual Meeting on Saturday, April 14, 2023, at the Southern Hills Country Club, Tulsa. Please submit your nominations by Friday, January 27, 2023.

Don J. Blair, Friend of Medicine Award: This award is presented to an outstanding lay person whose work positively impacts the practice of medicine, the delivery of health care, or the prevention of negative health consequences in their community.

Gordon H. Deckert, MD, OSMA Award for Community Service: This award is presented to an Oklahoma physician who has made significant contributions to the medical community outside the scope of his or her current medical practice. The award recognizes physicians for reaching Oklahomans through actions and activities that improve the overall health and well being of our citizens and have a demonstrated positive impact on both physicians and the patients they serve.

Ed Calhoon, MD, Leadership in Medicine Award: This award was established by the Board of Trustees in 2001, and is presented to an OSMA member physician in recognition of his or her distinguished leadership and service to organized medicine at the county, state or national level.

Newcomer of the Year Award: This award was established in 2020 to honor an OSMA member physician in their first 5 years of practice who has exemplified significant contributions and service to their school, community, or organized medicine.